The Spirit Of Collage

I’m still infatuated with the idea of fabric collage, and checked yet another book out of the library.
stitched textile collage
I still have the book I checked out before too.
collage-books
The new book was helpful in that the author describes her inspiration for every quilt. I am a huge fan of ideas in general, and find it interesting to read about how others come up with ideas and translate them into form. I’m sure that makes me some kind of geek, although I’d be hard pressed to label it.
The second book showed the work of many different fiber artists who created in different formats, such as clothing, accessories, books, portraits, mixed media and quilts. There is a list of all the artists in the back of the book, which I copied so I could look at their work in more depth at my leisure.
So what did I learn from reading these books?
I learned that fabric collage is whatever the maker decides it will be. Anything goes. I like embroidery, vintage fabrics and surface design, so guess what will be in my collage. The author of the first book knits, and she put bis of her knitting in her collages. It added great texture and was something I’d never seen before.
This is a lesson worth repeating. Whatever comes out when you allow yourself to create is exactly perfect. It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t look like what everyone else is doing. I sometimes think there is too much emphasis on patterns and following the trends in the quilting world. Myself, I’d rather see something I’ve never seen before even if I don’t like it. I can still appreciate the originality and the creativity of the maker.
It’s all about the journey.

This entry was posted in books, fabric collage, ideas, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Spirit Of Collage

  1. Hopefully you let your ideas take you in whatever direction they will. It can be fun to follow a pattern when you don’t want to think, but it’s more fun to go out on your own and see what happens when you go down your own path. Have fun.

  2. Gayle Kush says:

    Are you taking Deb Bosharts class at QU? I am twking the collage one because I habe always liked her stuff and I received her book as a Cristmas gift last year. It’s a good one too if you haven’t seen it yet!

  3. dezertsuz says:

    I s agree with your final paragraph! Thx for sharing these ideas and books.

  4. anudge says:

    I wish my library had such up to date quilting books. I’ve even left suggestions, but we’re not on their radar. I too am very much fascinated with fabric collage and mosaics.

Leave a Reply

