August 2017 Short List

Hard to believe it’s time for another Short List. This month I’m changing it to correct what isn’t working.
The Short List includes something old (UFO), something new, a handwork project and Art Supply Creative play. I started using this system in November 2014 to keep myself focused. I add and delete categories over time as my interests change.
I finished the table runner in July, which was in the new category.
I’ve done almost nothing with Creative Art Supply Play this year, so I’m changing it back to Creative Play.
I also decided to start a leader and ender project because I’ve had trouble lately with my blocks getting sucked down the needle plate. I’m sure it had nothing to do with me sewing through a flower head on a pin. I didn’t want to start anything new though. Instead I went through a few UFO boxes to find something that would work. I discovered I still love my UFOs and felt bad I never finished them. The list will shift to incorporate more of them.
Something Old – I already finished the UFO number that came up this month. I started working on the Snippet Butterfly quilt in July and will continue with that. It’s my oldest UFO.
buttterfly-quilt2
Something Else Old: Once I finish piecing the cat quilt, I’m going to work on my Bouquet Applique quilt. The center applique is done but needs some repairs. I like to have a piecing project going all the time and the border will work for that. Lots of little pieces there.
Something New – I’m still working on the cat quilt. The rows are all pieced and three of the five are sewn together. After that it needs some borders.
Handwork – I made no progress on the second pillowcase, but I’m leaving it on the list.
Creative Play – I’m going to make a first attempt at a small collage this month. To encourage me to do something, I’m linking to the Learning QAL.
The next couple weeks are very busy, then it will calm down for about a month. Whatever I can finish this month will have to be good enough.

This entry was posted in applique, charityquilts, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 2017 Short List

  1. Kate says:

    Sounds like a very thoughtful list. Good luck with your plans for August.

  2. Hi Donna, thanks so much for linking to the Learning QAL.I hope that you have fun with your collage. Funny that one of my oldest UFO is also a snippet project. Mine`s a vase with flowers. One day it will get done! Good luck. I really like your butterfly.

Leave a Reply

