Sunday Stash August 18, 2019

I had a finish this week for some fabric out. Good to see the numbers going in the right direction.

I wanted to finish quilting the acorn runner last night, but fatigue won out and I made the binding instead. It was hard to leave it so close to done, but I find free motion quilting works best when I’m mentally alert. I’ll finish it today and report it next week.

acorn quilting

Thanks to everyone who links up or stops by to check out the links. I know a lot of the regulars are traveling this month or have other priorities and aren’t able to participate. I’ll keep the linkup going and evaluate later this year. As bad as my numbers are, they’d be worse if I wasn’t tracking my purchases.

If you are thinking of tracking your stash, you can join in anytime. You don’t have to go back and figure everything for the year. You can start now and track going forward. The point is to be conscious of purchases in relation to usage rather than use up all the stash and never buy anything new.

Fabric Added: 50.25

Fabric Used: 8.75 yards

Net Fabric In: 41.5 yards

How did you do this week?

1 Julie in GA
2 Chrisknits
3 Meloney
4 Patricia
5 Angie in SoCal
6 Becca // Pretty Piney Quilts
7 Mary-Kay
8 Melva Loves Scraps
9 Quilting Gail

This entry was posted in freemotion, stashbusting, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Stash August 18, 2019

  1. Julie Kennedy says:

    I hope you keep the Stash Reports going. I find it very helpful to track my usage and purchases, especially when I am reporting them in public!

  2. chrisknits says:

    I will be here each week, staying honest with my count. I don’t know that it stops me from buying, but it does make me more aware and maybe somewhat controls my wild spending. LOL!

  3. melfunk says:

    I hope you keep the stash report going. It is helpful and I only don’t report when I am out of the area without internet (which has happened a few times this year). I love the accountability.

  4. Laura says:

    Love how the acorn table runner is looking! 🙂

  5. Mia is mine says:

    Though my dad’s illness will continue to affect my blogging in general, your link up is one of the first things that pop up in my mind when I’m considering breaking my fabric fast (except for needed fabric to finish a project). However, you will make the right decision for you. Perhaps this link up is simply good for you as you were saying. Perhaps high numbers of participation is not necessary because the goal is being met: you’re tracking your numbers and conscious of your usage and purchases. Or perhaps it is no longer necessary for you to do this. Either way, I’m grateful you have made me conscious of my own fabric purchase and usage. Thank you.

    By the way, your acorn runner is so very cute!

  6. Pingback: Monday check-in | Quilting Gail

  7. dezertsuz says:

    Ugh, I keep forgetting to link – too much on my plate these days. I’ll do better! I love your acorn runner – looking at it upside down, it could be a cactus in the bowl, if I removed the stem, and it would look great with quilty thorns and an appliqued flower or two! Just like a little barrel cactus. Thanks for sharing. You used some, and that was good!

Leave a comment