Sunday Stash February 23, 2020

No fabric in this week. I finished the Vogue 8253 shirt for 1.25 yards out.
vogue shirtThis was a fun garment to sew. I bought the fabric at the thrift a couple years ago. It has the feel of polyester, but it held a press, so I’m thinking there’s some rayon in it. It was a dream to sew. I thought it might โ€œgrowโ€ as I stitched because of the texture, but it didn’t.
I added width to the back and shortened it. I probably could have gotten away without the back adjustment because the fabric had some stretch, but the pattern was meant to be oversized and I wanted to stay true to the design.
I even dug out my serger and used it on the shirt and sleeve hems.
This was my first time using a Vogue pattern, and I thought the instructions were very good. I’ll definitely buy them in the future.
The shirt was my February OMG. I’m linking to the Elm Street Quilts finish party.
Fabric In: 1.5
Fabric Out: 4 yards
Net Fabric Out: 2.5 yards
How did you do this week?

1 Julie in GA
2 Marti
3 michele
4 Chrisknits
5 Meloney
6 Quilting Gail

This entry was posted in clothing, stashbusting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Stash February 23, 2020

  1. Julie Kennedy says:

    Nice looking shirt! I’m getting in the mood to do more clothing sewing too.

  2. Kate says:

    Congrats on the finish. Love the color and it sounds like the fabric should have a nice drape.

  3. Laura says:

    The shirt turned out great! It looks soft and comfy…lovely drape to it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Gayle says:

    That’s really cute! It makes me want to sew clothes again!

  5. quiltinggail says:

    What a pretty top! It looks lovely! I have never sewn with a Vogue pattern. Something to consider if I buy a new pattern!
    Happy Quilting! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: Progress | Quilting Gail

  7. chrisknits says:

    The top is wonderful!! Such a pretty color.

  8. Marly says:

    Nice shirt; I like the colour.

  9. Looks nice & comfy, and the color is gorgeous! Nice work.

  10. Susan says:

    This looks great! Congratulations on your finish. The reason you haven’t seen me here lately is that my son broke his leg at the end of January, and I haven’t been sewing or posting much. I hope to pick back up in March!

  11. Patty says:

    Great job. Thanks for linking up with Elm Street Quilts One Monthly Goal and congrats on your finish.

Leave a comment