Word of the Year 2023

I haven’t decided on plans for 2023, but I have the word for next year.

My 2022 word was FIND. I thought it would take me back to my roots, to the things I love the most. I saw some of that through the year, but mostly FIND helped me change my habits to make room for the important things. It’s still a work in process, but I see movement in the right direction. Later in the year, FIND helped adjust my attitude to make mental space for change. The attitude adjustments continue.

I had some big ideas about my word for 2023, but none of them felt right. After considering many words, I stopped and asked what my word should be. More often than not the word picks me.

I didn’t like what I heard. I didn’t get the overwhelming feeling of rightness that usually accompanies a Word of the Year. After considering it for a few days, I knew it was the right word. And I have no idea where this one will take me.

My word for 2023 is LISTEN.

A bit ironic. Good to know the Universe has a sense of humor. Perhaps LISTEN and the ongoing attitude adjustments go hand in hand. I’ll keep an open mind and wrap up with a quote by Rumi.

“There is a voice that doesn’t use words. Listen.”

This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Word of the Year 2023

  1. dwaterfield228 says:

    That is a good word. I haven’t thought about my word yet.

  2. Laura says:

    Love the Rumi quote! I also think ‘find’ is a great Word of the Year! Listen, too. I think they go very well together. Merry Christmas! 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    It’s a challenging and brave choice. Listening is hard on a lot of fronts, but you should get a lot of growth from it.

  4. Jennifer in Indy says:

    Good word and I hope it works well for you.

Leave a comment