The Sewing Room November 9, 2023

A lot has happened in the sewing room.

The green background for the challenge piece went back in the drawer. I decided I couldn’t finish the design the way I planned it before the deadline.

I revised the design to something I could finish, using hexagons as blocks. I made two blocks and realized I made octagons when they didn’t fit together .

I took time out to think about another redesign. In the end I put the whole project in a box and started over. I will finish it one day, probably using something close to the original design. It just wasn’t the right place and time for that quilt. It happens.

I chose a different motif from the inspiration quilt for the next version of this challenge.

I haven’t trimmed them in this photo, but you get the idea.

This one I can finish by the deadline, and it’s fun to work on.

I think most the participants in this challenge have had a do over somewhere along the way. It’s just part of the process.

This entry was posted in challenge, scraps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sewing Room November 9, 2023

  1. Laura says:

    If the hobby/creativity isn’t fun, then why do it? There are plenty of other unpleasant things in the world that must be done. šŸ™‚

  2. Kate says:

    That’s frustrating to have to start over, but it seems you finally hit on the one that works for you.

Leave a comment