April 2024 OMG Finish

My OMG for April was finishing the April challenge quilt, which had no name in March. The quilt was based on a pattern called Ruffles by Sew Be It. I ended up naming it Freeze Frame.

I painted the background fabric because I didn’t have anything in my stash that I liked with the reds I picked for the flower petals. The fabric in the flower center was painted years ago and textured with salt. I added a second layer of batting under the center that I thought made it too puffy. I added beads to the center to give it more interest and reduce the puffiness.

My biggest take away with this project involved the quilting. I debated just outlining the flower and calling it a quilt. I like quilts with more detailed quilting, although I’m not a fan of micro anything. If I want my quilts to have that, I have to put in the time. On came the big girl pants and the quilt got the fancy quilting.

For all the other OMG finishes, visit Stories From the Sewing Room.

This entry was posted in applique, beads, freemotion, OMG and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to April 2024 OMG Finish

  1. Laura Kate says:

    I love your colors and the quilting.

  2. Anne-Marie says:

    The quilting looks really good and I like the beading detail in the center of the flower.

  3. Laura says:

    I am glad that you put on the big girl pants, Donna! The beads are a great addition, too! Congrats on the finish! 🙂

  4. Kate says:

    The quilting on Freeze Frame turned out beautifully, it really works with the rest of the mini. Congrats on a very pretty finish. 

Leave a comment