Stash Report 6/17/12

I went to the NQA show in Columbus Friday.  It made for a long day driving down and back, but I didn’t really want to spend the night.

The show wasn’t very crowded, and I have to wonder if they’ll keep it in Columbus.  Now that AQS moved one of their shows to Grand Rapids, Michigan this year, it will be interesting to see if the area can support both.

I find that national shows are a good way to see the quilting trends.  I was surprised at the number of purple quilts and lone star quilts.  I love the color purple, but a whole bed quilt is a lot, even for me.  I didn’t realize the lone star pattern was so popular.  I don’t see many of those quilts at my local groups.

I enjoyed the special exhibit by Mary Buvia, who won last year with her The Loading Dock quilt.  I didn’t realize she’d been winning awards at major shows for the past ten years.  I hadn’t seen her work before last year.

Janet Stone, who I blogged about recently, had an alphabet quilt called Red Letter Daze in the winner’s circle.  I didn’t get a good look at it at the show and didn’t realize it was her work until I got home and looked at my pictures.  It’s always fun to see the work of people you admire in person.

Of course, I browsed the vendor booths too.  Couldn’t pass up half price one-yard cuts.  When I got them home, I realized they were actually one and a half yard cuts.  I pick up sale fabric for use in charity quilts and I know I’ll use this gold.  Nice golds are hard to find.

 

No fabric out this week, but I did start sewing again.  Good thing as my numbers are heading toward embarrassing.

Fabric Added:  19 7/8 yards

Fabric Used:    11 1/8 yards

Net Added:      8.75 yards

To see all the other stash reports, visit Judy’s blog.

This entry was posted in quiltshows, stashbusting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stash Report 6/17/12

  1. Wendee says:

    Wow! Nice golds *are* hard to find; looks like you found a real winner! So pretty!

Leave a Reply

