Sunday Stash January 21, 2018

No fabric in or out this week. It feels like a long time since I finished anything. That time will come again, hopefully before I add anything.
I spent a lot of time sewing last week with not much to show for it. The Bouquet quilt is bordered and basted now.
leader and ender squaresI also finished cutting up all my old calico scraps for my leader and ender project.
bouquet bastedYesterday I had Guild and instead of shopping for things I didn’t need I sewed at the Safehouse event. Safehouse is the battered women’s shelter designated as the Guild’s charity. We provide bed quilts for every woman and child that stays at the shelter. I worked with another Guild member to finish a partial top. We considered it a save since the borders in the box with the top did nothing for it and we had to scour the available fabrics to find something that would work better.
safehouse event 01202018rThe Guild member that manages the Safehouse events and quilt storage is a saint. The amount of fabric and partial projects she stores at her house is overwhelming. I hadn’t realized how much time she commits to the project. It’s a selfless labor of love.
It has me rethinking things in my own life.
Net fabric change 2018: 0
How did you do this week?

1. Melissa G
2. Meloney
3. Kate
4. Julie in GA
5. Chrisknits
6. Mary-Kay
7. MartyDIY
8. Dar’s Patchwork Garden
9. Small bit of destashing
10. Quilting Gail
11. Susan T
12. Patricia Faith, Trust and Breast Cancer
13. michele

This entry was posted in applique, charityquilts, scrapquilts, stashbusting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday Stash January 21, 2018

  1. Melissa G says:

    The borders you ended up with on the Safehouse quilt look just right. I also admire people who are able to give wholeheartedly like that. The world needs more like them.

  2. Kate says:

    Sounds like you got a lot done, even if it doesn’t show up in the stash report. The salvaged borders work perfectly for the Safehouse quilt. It’s sad that we need such places, but it’s good that your group supports that need.

  3. Julie in GA says:

    Your Bouquet quilt is beautiful, and the borders on the Safehouse quilt look great! That is a great cause for your group to support.

  4. chrisknits says:

    I went seriously backwards! But everything purchased was for a project, so it will be used eventually.

  5. Pingback: Quilting Junkie » Blog Archive » The Stash and Sewing Goals

  6. Dar in MO says:

    Your Safehouse quilt borders work great! I too make quilts for a safe house in our area, Our Lady’s Inn. They only house 12 mothers and their children, but there is always a need because of the turnaround time and they take them when they move out. What size did you cut your leftover calicos into?

  7. Pingback: Sewing at my Sister’s | Quilting Gail

  8. Gayle Kush says:

    Jan really does do so mich to make those sew days productive. Just the cutting alone is staggering. I hope she has some help.

  9. quiltinggail says:

    I like your Safehouse quilt! The striped border fabric is great! Your leader and ender project looks intriguing – do you have a plan? … Gail

  10. floresita says:

    Wow, that quilt is gorgeous! Such a wonderful project to work on. Thank you for stopping by Feeling Stitchy and leaving a comment! Nice to meet you!

Leave a comment