Sunday Stash February 18, 2018

No fabric in or out this week.
I started my Scrap Attack collage, got this far and got stuck.
birds fusedI realized after everything was glued or fused that the background was too plain and I should have painted/painstiked/colored it first. New ground, new lessons.
I liked what I had and I didn’t want to mess it up. Anyone else ever feel this way?
I thought about it last night and wondered who this person was and what she’d done with the real me. I am fearless when it comes to surface design. I believe you can fix anything with more paint, beads, stitching, etc. There is no wrong answer. It’s all good.
So off to the sewing room where I stamped with paint, used crayons and rubbing plates and stamped more paint. I thought the yellow paint was too bright, so I washed some of it out with soap and water.
birds in processI think it needs more visual weight in the bottom section and will do that today. Once it dries the quilting will begin. The pieces is slightly larger than a sheet of copy paper.
It feels good to be moving forward again.
Fabric In: 0
Fabric Out: 1.5
Net Fabric Used: 1.5
Quilt & embroidery spending: $13
How did you do this week?

1. maggie f
2. Melissa G
3. Meloney
4. Chrisknits
5. Kate
6. MartiDIY
7. melanie
8. Julie in GA
9. Quilting Gail
10. Aileen K
11. Only few needed
12. Mary-Kay
13. Patricia
14. michele
15. DesertSky Quilting

This entry was posted in collage, crayon, fabricpainting, scrapquilts, stashbusting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Stash February 18, 2018

  1. Pingback: Sunday Stash Report/52 Hats Challenge – chrisknitssews

  2. Kate says:

    I love the bright red birds! Looking forward to seeing what you add next.

  3. Marti says:

    I like the stamping. It does add just enough interest to the background. I’m curious to see what else you add. I’m not good at that sort of thing at all.

  4. quiltinggail says:

    I thought the first picture was pretty cool. But the 2nd one – with all your additions – looks fantastic! One day, I might try to do some surface design … but not now. In the meantime, I love following your blog!

  5. Pingback: Sunday Stash – Feb. 18, ’18 | Quilting Gail

  6. chrisknits says:

    I continue to slide backwards! At least it’s a slow slide. LOL

  7. anudge says:

    I like your collage – developing nicely.

  8. Pingback: Quilting Junkie » Blog Archive » This Week in My Sewing Room

  9. Both photos are so pretty – I really liked the first one – but wow, the changes you made certainly added depth to the background! Nice!

Leave a comment