Sunday Stash July 29, 2018

Another busy week all around and more changes to the numbers.
I had fabric out for the finish shown in the previous post.
I also had fabric in. Last summer my art quilt group entered a group piece in a local quilt show and took best of class, which came with $50 of prize money. We debated what to do with the money and decided to purchase enough of this fabric for everyone to get a half yard.
graduated batikIt’s a graduated batik. There is a group challenge to make something using this fabric. I won’t get to it in August, but I will do it eventually.
I’m beginning to wonder if the Universe is conspiring against my stash reduction goal. I’m not complaining, because gifts are always blessings, but I’ve received free fabric from multiple sources this year, more so than any other year. The scary part – it’s only July.
Fabric In: 13 yards
Fabric Out: 13.5 yards
Net Fabric Used: 0.5 yards
Quilt & embroidery spending: $112
How did you do this week?

1 Meloney
2 Kate
3 Melissa G
4 Patricia
5 maggie f
6 DesertSky Quilting
7 Quilting Gail

This entry was posted in challenge, Fabric, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Stash July 29, 2018

  1. melfunk says:

    I’m thinking the universe is against all of us. LOL Love that fabric.

  2. Kate says:

    I’ll agree with Mel on both counts. That fabric is gorgeous!

  3. I hear ya on the blessed fabric gifts. I still have to buy fabric now and again. My neutrals needed replentished. I am wondering what the best way to purge will be? I am torn, at the same time it is nice to shop the stash and have what I need without leaving the house.

  4. I like the idea of tracking my stash, but I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed in figuring out how to start. I’m also looking to tame my stash that is not allocated to projects. I want to be able to do scrappy quilts so I am trying to organize fabric using Bonnie Hunter’s scrap system. Maybe what I should track is the non scraps. Just the yardage larger than fat eighths. This is a great problem to have. Enjoy your weekend.

  5. Mia is mine says:

    Congratulations on Best in Class! Your fabric is gorgeous – I really like how the colors are graduated. Blessings of fabric are wonderful! My daughter is cleaning out her own stash and has given me 14 yards of flannel in the last months, with more to come I’m sure! Life is good! 🙂

  6. Pingback: PHD in 2018 – July Report | Quilting Gail

Leave a comment