Sunday Stash November 4, 2018

No change to the numbers this week.
I’m making an effort to get back to a more regular posting schedule and get back in the sewing room. This week I finished sewing all the 9 patch leader and ender blocks I care to sew for now.
9patchNow I need to figure out what to do with them. I originally planned to put them all in one quilt, but they don’t play that well together. I’m in no hurry. The design will come to me.
I’ve also decided not to do leaders and enders in the future. I don’t make a lot of pieced quilts, and this project would have languished for years if I didn’t purposefully work on it.
Fabric In: 13 yards
Fabric Out: 16 yards
Net Fabric Used: 3 yards
Quilt & embroidery spending: $141
How did you do this week?


1 Kate
2 Chrisknits
3 Meloney
4 maggie f
5 Quilting Gail
6 Aileen

This entry was posted in scrapquilts, stashbusting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Stash November 4, 2018

  1. Kate says:

    That’s my problem with just making blocks, you have to figure out what do to with them when you are done!

  2. melfunk says:

    I only make bonus HST with my leader/ender projects. Then, I have a project that I need 2″ bonus HST and don’t have enough. Why don’t I cut down some of the 2.5″ ones? Who knows. But, I’m having fun and need to remember that.

  3. Laura says:

    For an opinion that doesn’t really matter (har, har!), I think the nine patches do play well together. They look like the start of a pretty floral quilt. Or perhaps a set of placemats? Or tablerunner?

  4. chrisknits says:

    Mug rugs for gift giving? They are sweet, even if you have no plan for them. I always think to start a lead/end project, but I am also a defined project sewer, so I would have to purposefully pick a project to do.

  5. quiltinggail says:

    I agree with Laura, I think the blocks DO play nice together and will make a beautiful floral quilt! Pick a soft green, use it for sashing and you will soon have a pretty quilt!
    When I do L & E, it usually for a quilt I want to make … and I have always called it “2 at a Time.” That way my main project gets done and a lot of the 2nd project gets done.
    Happy Quilting! 🙂

  6. Dar in MO says:

    I/m with quiltingGail. I used to do L/E with 9 patches of pastels and white. Made 4 or 5 baby quilts for family members. Worked great. Now I try to work on a specific quilt top as my L/E and then when main quilt is finished, the L/E is well on it’s way to being a top in short order. It uses up stash, and that is my main goal these days.

  7. Pingback: Retreat? Oh yes!!! | Quilting Gail

  8. Aileen says:

    I have a sweater box full of 8 patches and 4 patches. I think after the holidays I will make 2019 gifts out of them.

Leave a comment