Looking Back, Looking Forward

It’s that time of year when you see a lot of 2019 recaps and 2020 plans. I’ve been thinking about 2020 for a few weeks now, keeping in mind where I am and where I want to be.
This wasn’t one of my more productive sewing years. A leg injury late in 2018 kept me out of the sewing room and focused on healing the first part of the year. I couldn’t move around well and stayed off my feet with the leg elevated after work each day. Eventually it healed and life went on.
One of the best things that came out of 2019 was making peace with free motion quilting. It was a long time coming.pineapple punch
My 2019 word was ENJOY. When you focus on what adds joy to your life, the things that don’t really stand out. For that reason I will not participate in challenges or quilt-alongs in 2020, unless they support my personal goals. I have lots of my own ideas I want to explore and move into form, and that didn’t happen this year. I also want to sew my own clothes, play with surface design and finish UFOs.
In 2020, I will continue to track and report stash with hopes of reducing the hoard. I will also set quarterly goals for UFOs, original designs, garment sewing and finishing stitchery projects. I have a pile of stitched projects and frames that need to partner up. I will continue with OMG and may also add the quarterly Finish-Along link up.
I have less aggressive goals for charity quilts and surface design, but they are still part of the plan.pink flowers
Other than what I’m working on now, I have not listed out specific projects. I find that doesn’t work for me because my interests change so much during the year. I’ll make those decisions at the beginning of every quarter.
That’s my plan for 2020. Wishing everyone a happy, healthy and creative New Year.

This entry was posted in charityquilts, clothing, ideas, OMG, surface design, ufos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Looking Back, Looking Forward

  1. Laura says:

    I like your quarterly planning idea, Donna! Your goals sound similar to mine, except that I have no interest in keeping track of stash in/out. I am not writing a year in review post, or a 2020 goals post. I intend to plod along with my FOCUS list, which I will update as I work through it. I decided that I really need to keep it simple…maybe after I retire (sigh), I will jump back into the many fun distractions, but then again, I already have a lot that I’d like to do. 🙂
    May you be blessed with a fulfilling and healthy new year!

  2. Laura Kate says:

    I like your pineapple a lot. The free-motion swirls look great.

  3. Sounds like a good plan! I have yet to start thinking about my goals for next year, but I guess I better get a move on!

  4. chrisknits says:

    Looks like you have a very well thought out plan of action. I am looking to simplify 2020, due to a wedding in August for our daughter. I don’t need the added stress of other’s mysteries and sew alongs, LOL!

Leave a comment