How To Accumulate Ideas

I’ve been looking through old quilting magazines to give myself a break from screen time. In the Sept/Oct 2017 issue of Quiltmaker, I saw this Bonnie Hunter pattern.

Interesting, but I wouldn’t want a bed quilt of pumpkins. Maybe a table runner? No, one row is too narrow, two rows didn’t appeal.

Maybe a wall hanging or topper, three rows of five pumpkins. Much more interesting. The pumpkins can be sewn from scraps, always a plus.

I’m not a fan of the grey background. Blue would be nice. Black on white prints might be better. Varying the placement of the pumpkins would also add interest.

I like the checker board border, although I would scale it back. Undecided on the triangle border.

Now I’m wishing I didn’t already have four other projects in process and I could start this one.

I could do this all day long. Sometimes I add design elements or take block sections away. I might change the block size or streamline the design. It’s lots of fun to play “what if”.

This is one of many ways I’ve accumulated ideas beyond what I can sew in my lifetime.

This entry was posted in ideas, scrapquilts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How To Accumulate Ideas

  1. Yep…I figure I get ideas at the rate of about one per week. Can I (should I) create 52 quilts a year? Not if I want to stay married and employed…

  2. Denise Waterfield says:

    That is a great pumpkin pattern!

  3. Laura says:

    Yes…I have more ideas than I can handle!
    I have seen BH’s pumpkin pattern made with a blue background…very pretty! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Sunday Stash April 24, 2022 | quiltpaintcreate

Leave a comment