New Year, New Plan, OMG

Like everyone else, I ended last year thinking about plans for this year. 2021 was not a prolific year in the sewing room. I spent far more time stitching and finished a lot of projects as compared to prior years.

I’m not a fast sewer or stitcher. I’m usually one of the last people to finish in class. I rarely have extended for creative hobbies.

That said, I will continue to have a Short List but a much smaller one. My goals this year are to use what I have, finish what I’ve started and do the things that have lived on my wish list far too long. I want to get back to the techniques I love and maybe learn something new. I’m ditching the long lists and categories. I’ll go where it takes me.

The first Short List project is a challenge quilt for my Art Quilt Group. The goal is to get our quilts juried into the AQS Ultimate Guild Challenge this year. That quilt needs to be done by the end of February.

The second Short List project is the felt ornament that gave me so much grief I bailed and did something else for the Needle Arts Guild’s ornament exchange. I don’t know why they even bothered with instructions on really old patterns. The directions never seem to produce the desired results. This project has been on my list for years, and I will figure it out.

The ornament will be my OMG for January, linking to Elm Street Quilts.

This entry was posted in challenge, embroidery, holidays, OMG, The Short List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Year, New Plan, OMG

  1. Helen says:

    Good luck with your ornament and your short list. I am learning to embrace the go with the flow attitude when it comes to my sewing. Long lists and deadlines can make it a chore when it is supposed to be fun, me time.

  2. Laura says:

    You have good goals. I agree with Helen. 🙂
    Learning something new is a must as well. It doesn’t need to be sewing related.

  3. Joyce says:

    Sounds like you have set realistic goals for the year. Best of luck with your projects!

  4. Mia is mine says:

    Yes, I agree with Helen! We are facing retirement – one we’ve prepared for, but we are a bit nervous. I am also using what is in my fabric/yarn/pattern stashes. I’m planning to only buy “go with” fabrics. Again, I thank God for you and your Stash Report as it will keep me grounded. 🙂

  5. Kate says:

    It’s so easy to get caught up in lists and the push to just finish. Glad you took a step back and reassessed. Good luck with your goals this year. Happy stitching.

Leave a comment