The Next Challenge

If you are a regular reader, you know that my art quilt group (Art2Quilt) has an ongoing challenge where the members make quilts inspired by the quilt of another member. We finished round one in May, and round two is due near the end of July.

I won’t show the inspiration quilt because it doesn’t belong to me and I don’t have permission, but I will show what inspired my design.

This is the background fabric in a portrait quilt. It reminds me of the 1960s.

This round will involve paint and creating motifs with Pellon 830 interfacing. I will also be using bits from this vintage tablecloth, found when cleaning out my parents’ house.

There are all kinds of large holes and tears in it. I don’t feel the least bit bad about cutting it up. I scoured it in blue Dawn to remove decades of dirt and dust, and threw it in the dryer. The bath did it a world of good.

I will post my process and progress as I go along. It’s always fun to see if the plan looks anything like the finished project.

This entry was posted in artquilts, challenge, inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Next Challenge

  1. Laura Kate says:

    Looking forward to seeing what you make.

  2. Laura says:

    I am glad that you are using that vintage bit…so much better than having it languish away in a box somewhere! Excited to see what you are up to! 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    Ooooh, fun! Your starting materials are really pretty.

Leave a comment