Long Awaited Finish

I am SO excited. I finally finished something! I put the last stitches in the binding last night.

retro-charm-bindingI started this quilt about six years ago. A friend gave me a charm pack that I paired with some yardage I received through a swap in a Yahoo quilting group. I know there’s a pattern by someone, but I just cut the fabric and sewed the blocks. It worked out fine.

retro-charm-finishedI played around with the quilting design for years. Then I decided to dye a back to match, which came out too dark for the quilt. I decided to discharge it, which took me until last spring. The back smelled funky after the discharge process, so I let it sit until fall.
I basted the quilt and changed the quilting design a few more times. I think I started quilting it in December. The quilting used almost two spools of thread. The quilt finished at 52” square.
I broke more flower head pins while working on this quilt than I have the rest of my quilting life. It was just one of those things.
Now my UFO list has one less item and I have one March finish on the Short List. At this rate I’ll be working on UFOs until I’m 60.
I’m linking up to Whoop Whoop Friday.

This entry was posted in ufos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Long Awaited Finish

  1. Gayle says:

    Great choice in quilting designs. Looks great.

  2. Denise says:

    Congratulations on finishing your quilt!! It is gorgeous!!

  3. Lynn says:

    It all came together really well in the end. Great pattern and use of fabrics. Thanks for showing us!

  4. Becky says:

    Ooo, I love the quilting design! I have a similar quilt on my to-do list and I think similar quilting would suit it well.

Leave a comment