Big Magic

I just finished listening to Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. I’ll admit I loved Eat, Pray, Love and listened to rather than read that one too.
As soon as the credits rolled on the last CD, I popped it out and put the first CD in so I could listen to it again. I haven’t done that since The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.
The book reminded me a lot of The War Of Art by Steven Pressfield. It’s a collection of short essays on living a creative life, inspiration and the motivation behind creativity. Gilbert has a sarcastic edge to her humor that I enjoy. I also appreciated the Harry Potter references sprinkled through the book, but then I watched all those movies several times. I just happened to have a son growing up through the Harry Potter years.
I found the book by accident. Sometimes I search through my library’s catalog by subject, limiting the search to books on CD. I don’t remember what search term I used, but this book came up and I reserved it. The book must have just come out on CD because I was the first one to check out my library’s copy.
This was definitely a book worth hearing.
I am no way affiliated with the author and I did not receive a free copy of the book in exchange for my review of it.

This entry was posted in books, creativity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

