Sunday Stash July 15, 2017

No fabric out this week.
Yesterday my guild had their garage sale. I tend to buy a lot of books, but they didn’t have nearly as many as usual. There was a lot of fabric in mostly small pieces. Maybe there were bigger pieces and I didn’t get there fast enough? I picked up a couple books, one in the Masters series and another on landscape quilts that includes a lot of thread painting info.
I thought that would do me until I saw this UFO box as I headed toward the exit.
stripes UFO
This project is so not me. The colors are muted and I don’t work with stripes much. And yet it intrigued me. For the first time ever, the box included the pattern, yardage, finished blocks and block pieces. The pattern is often the missing link. It begged me to take it home with me, so I did.
That makes four yards in. Ouch! The yardage was three of that, and I estimated all the parts at another yard.
If I’m going to keep bringing stray projects home, I definitely need to sew more. I forced myself into the sewing room last night to work on the cat quilt (another stray) and it didn’t go well. But that is a story for another post.
Fabric In: 28.875 yards
Fabric out: 16.375 yards
Net Fabric Added: 12.5 yards
I’m getting close to the point of no return on adds, although there is still hope.
How did you do this week?

1. Kate
2. Julie in GA
3. Shauna
4. Angie in SoCal
5. Meloney
6. katie z
7. Quilting Gail
8. Susan in TN

This entry was posted in books, quilt guild, stashbusting, ufos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Stash July 15, 2017

  1. I’ve learned over the years that the words challenge and opportunity should be considered 4-letter words. Still doesn’t stop me from attempting those type of projects, but they do tend to result in the use of a lot of 4 letter words down the road. But I really like those blocks. It will be a pretty quilt when it’s all done.

  2. Julie in Ga says:

    I love the project you picked up at your guild’s sale, both the pattern and the fabrics. In fact, I have some of the fabric that is 2nd from the top on the left–I wonder where it is?! Good luck with your new orphan!

  3. Dar in MO says:

    You are just a softy for strays. I’m that way too, as evidenced by all the UFOs I have hidden around my house. If only I can live long enough to finish most of them. 🙂 That quilt with the stripes is going to be great when it’s finished. It’s fun to do something “not you” once in a while. Who knows, it may just be your favorite—-until the next stray comes along.

  4. Meloney Funk says:

    I’m not one for muted fabrics either, but it helps to work with them once in awhile. 🙂

  5. Pingback: July 17 Update | Quilting Gail

  6. dezertsuz says:

    I like your find. Have fun with those blocks.

Leave a comment