Sunday Stash March 25, 2018

No fabric in or out this week.
The next report will mark the end of the first quarter. If that number represents 25% of what I’ll use this year, I’m in big trouble.
I spent most the week removing the paper from Random. I will never paper piece that way again. I’ll finish removing it today, after investing hours. There must be a better way.
random centerI also spent a fair amount of time looking for dark blue fabric in my stash to use for the borders. There were only scraps left in the project box. I did not want to have to buy fabric, and I did find something eventually.
I had to rethink the border after I found the EQ file too. There wasn’t a full picture of the quilt in the project box. The border I designed was too heavy for the quilt. It may just be a matter of tastes changing over time, but it seems these old UFOs take a lot of rework. Letting projects sit for years is another never again thing.
Fabric In: 2.5 yards
Fabric Out: 1.875 yards
Net Fabric Added: 0.625 yard
Quilt & embroidery spending: $15

How did you do this week?

1 Julie in GA
2 maggie f
3 Kate
4 Meloney
5 Melissa G
6 Patricia
7 Chrisknits
8 MartiDIY
9 Almost a destashing halt
10 Quilting Gail
11 Aileen K
12 michele

This entry was posted in eq, paperpiecing, stashbusting, The Short List, ufos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday Stash March 25, 2018

  1. Kate says:

    Love your Random UFO! I like paper piecing, but removing all that paper at the end is a pain. Hopefully you’ll do better next quarter on fabric usage. I tend to do best in second quarter, it’s in between spring break and vacation. Though we’ll do an early vacation this year as the SIT has decided on summer school.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Stash Report/52 Hats Challenge – chrisknitssews

  3. chrisknits says:

    Hopefully you can get it all worked out to your vision. It will be a stunning quilt.

  4. Marti says:

    I think UFOs are a lot harder because of the rework. I have picked up several in the past month that have no directions with them and I can’t figure out what I had been doing with it. Like you said, never again.

  5. Mia is mine says:

    What a lovely UFO! It’s stunning – filled with movement and excitement! Thank you for hosting and sharing!

  6. anudge says:

    I totally agree with you about removing paper! I’m considering trying Cynthia England’s method where one uses paper, but there’s not paper to pick out. Love the quilt.

  7. Pingback: Mar. 25 Stash Report & Design Wall | Quilting Gail

  8. quiltinggail says:

    I like your resolve: “Letting projects sit for years is another never again thing.” Good luck with that ! I agree with Marti that working on UFOs is a lot of work! You have to sort-of start from the beginning and find out where you are.
    Have you tried paper piecing where you fold the paper back and sew right beside the line – no sewing on the paper. No removing paper. Same result as accurate paper piecing! Happy Quilting!

  9. Pingback: Half way there! | Quilting Gail

  10. Pingback: April Finish #2 | Quilting Gail

Leave a comment